A charitable start

I fell off the blogging wagon pretty hard last year – in fact I lost my knitting mojo for a while. I didn’t knit nearly as frequently as I had intended. I was pretty stressed and looking back, kind of overwhelmed with all of the changes that 2015 threw at me. I couldn’t bring myself to blog, or knit and everything just ended up in a big old heap.

Ironically, facing my fears and picking up a new project and finding that lost mojo helped me to lose some of the stress and find my inner peace.

The yarn diet I went on last year – like most diets, I fell off the wagon in a big way and ended up with a larger stash than I started the year with. i kind of ignored all of that too, so I now need to do a stocktake, update my stash in Ravelry and figure out my plan for 2016.

But first, let me show you my first completed project for the year – a wee joey pouch to send  to Wildlife Victoria. Yesterday I saw a media release, which put the call out for joey pouches (link to pattern) among other items and I was compelled to cast on one immediately.

Here is the completed object, modelled by a Windrider Cub*

012815f98f5fc416b1813fb7e21ba9a65029918ca8_00001

I changed the pattern considerably, knit it in the round to avoid seaming. if anyone would like to use my method – let me know and I’ll put up the pattern in a later post. This was knit in some 8ply wool from Bendigo Woollen Mills and the best thing, gauge isn’t really a concern, because they need pouches of all sizes for all different kinds of animals.

Happy knitting!

 

 

*For those who don’t know, a Windrider is a mount from the World of Warcraft computer game.

About Stash and Notions

Knitting addict. Beginner Spinner. Find me on Ravelry as MissRedpen
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

