The great Knit Picks incident of 2015

So, remember my great yarn diet? Ha. Ha hahahaha. It was stash enhancement week here at Stash and Notions and the binge has been glorious

019a28b53aeb5abae1b1f94b2f70c2351622dea1d9

Knit Picks, a ‘workhorse’ yarn from America, recently announced that they have started shipping to Australia, with an added bonus – free shipping on orders over $60.00. At first I wasn’t tempted because I’m on a diet.

Then I learned they a superwash merino in the hard-to-find 10 ply. There’s a commission project that has been in my queue for the last three + months that I had been waiting for yarn to come along. The total came to about $15. Now, I just had to get myself over the sixty dollar mark I said to myself, otherwise it just wouldn’t be economical.

In went a few more yarns. Basket total went up to about $150. Some tough decisions made and I got the basket down to exactly $75.00. Here is my haul:

0172a346eca27fb2d534b8c98036e804012ff40770Number One: Wool of the Andes’ Superwash merino – it’s a 10ply yarn, 2 balls of each, one in a dark pink (rouge colorway) and 2 balls in white. I’ve already cast on the project (details in a future post)

01abbc778a67f8fa332478b5a6ce371cee35b6695a

Next in the basket – stroll, hand painted sock yarn. I had to have this delicious variegated yarn. It’s a sock yarn of utter gorgeousness. Purples, greens, blues and teal. I think I might have a project in mind for this, but I’m not sure. 2x100g balls added 900 odd meters to the to the stash.

01a368ea3a7557708a15be93f827e9a4a770eedba1Then came Gloss Fingering – a four-ply of merino and silk. Not sure I love this colorway in real life as much as I did on screen – it’s purple, but it has a kind of grey-brown undertone that I’m not loving so much. Maybe I’ll have to trick my eye by knitting with with some colours that enhance the purple tones because the texture is divine. So soft and squishy and lofty.

Finally, two 50g balls of a teal (surprised? no) merino/cashmere/nylon sock lend called capretta. It’s squishy and I think these two balls may just be my first two-at-a-time sock project.

01881906adb0afebe26c37165ec0629f524f2f7d05

In addition, one of the lovely ladies from my Monday night knitting group, Richmond Knitters, destashed a ton of yarn – gifted it, mind you. This super-bulky colours of the sea AslanTrends Superwash blend called to me. Three skeins accidentally found their way into my bag.

0178a3d882e9615ff3f7a5260360ff95aabfdfbbb0

The end result, in the past week, my stash increased by about 1900 meters. In addition, it turned out I miscalculated my initial stash acquisition of the year. I told you all I’d purchased about 1.25 kms, and it was closer to 1.75 – 7 x 250g, not 5 times. Oops.

I’ve been knitting fairly steadily each day, but my productivity has decreased. I’m pretty tired as a result of work, and probably not eating as well as I could be. Also, study has been getting in the way! Study uurgh. This blog post may be procrastination from an assignment that is due in about 10 hours from now.

However, I have made some progress, but I think it’s fair to say that this diet is going the way of all other diets I’ve done. Fallen off the wagon and gained, rather than lost.

Stash Diet Summary – as at 29 March 2015

  • Meters knit from 1 January 2015 to date: 2048
  • Meters acquired since 1 January 2015: 3996
  • Position: Increased by 1956 meters 
About Stash and Notions

Knitting addict. Beginner Spinner. Find me on Ravelry as MissRedpen
This entry was posted in Stash and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

